Boards of Directors

Our board represents a cross-section of our community and has a passion for our organization and those we serve. The members work hard to ensure long-term sustainability of the organization and oversee that the funds raised directly affect those in need.

Partner Congregations select a church member to serve a two year commitment on the Board of Directors. At-Large Board Members are nominated by current Board Members or staff, interviewed, and then offered an opportunity to serve a two year term as well.

Board meetings are typically held monthly, the second Thursday of each month, and normally located at Shades Valley Presbyterian Church from 5:45 – 7:15 pm. An executive committee is chosen to lead this committed group of volunteers to provide leadership and direction to The Firehouse Shelter’s ministry of serving our communities most vulnerable citizens – the homeless men of Birmingham and the surrounding seven county metro area.

Board of Directors

Name Church or Company Affiliation Contact
Matt CahillLutheran Church of Vestavia Hills mcahill@bakerdonelson.com
Nick D'AlessandroBarfield, Murphy, Shank & Smith ndalessandro@bmss.com
Fred EsleckFerguson Enterprises Fred.Esleck@Ferguson.com
Tosi GilfordUAB Physican's Assistant Program tgilford@uab.edu
Kathryn HowardChurch of the Highlands  pcblues@bellsouth.net
Bobby HumphreyCEMEX bobbyh@rmusainc.com
Charlotte JonesProtective Life charlotte.jones@protective.com
Dr. Rick KilgoreUAB Physican's Assistant Program jrkilgo@uab.edu
Mark LagorySt. Luke's Episcopal mlagory@saint-lukes.com
Don LupoCity of Birmingham don.lupo@birminghamal.gov
Nancy MartinBrookwood Baptist Church jonanmartin@charter.net
Bill McDonaldMcDonald Investments wwmjr@wwminvest.com
Doug McKInneyGardendale Mt. Vernon bdmjr@bellsouth.net
Amy McNeerMedical Properties Trust amcneer@medicalpropertiestrust.com
Ricky MiskelleyBlue Dawg, LLC rmiskelley@gobluedawg.com
Dottie Mitchell dmitchell05@bellsouth.net
Janice NixonMt. Zion Church janice_nixon@bellsouth.net
Lee Ann PettyRegions leeann.petty@regions.com
Kyle PuchtaBluff Park United Methodist Church kyle.puchta@regions.com
Patti Reid (President)Renasant Bank PReid@renasant.com
Danny RodgersSt Paul's Cathedral drodgers@dunnconstruction.com
Rhonda RushTrinity UMC rrush@homewood.k12.al.us
Victor SmithHillcrest Behavioral Health omega573@bham.rr.com
Ken StalnakerHiller Fire Protection klstalnak@gmail.com
Mike WadeShades Valley Presbyterian Church mwade12@bellsouth.net
Marilyn WilsonHoly Trinity Holy Cross Greek Orthodox Cathedral harmargwil7@earthlink.net
Anne YuengertBradley ayuengert@bradley.com

Junior Board of Directors

The mission of the Firehouse Ministries Junior Board of Directors is to support the overall mission and activities of The Firehouse by acting as ambassadors for the agency and the homeless community as a whole, overseeing and participating in Board and shelter sponsored events and fundraising, and ensuring the health and sustainability of the agency through policy development, budgeting, and strategic oversight.

Name Church or Company Affiliation Contact
Austin AverittBulter Snow LLP Austin.Averitt@butlersnow.com
Matt CateCobbs, Allen and Hall mcate@cobbsallen.com
Major ClickWhite Arnold Dowd mclick@whitearnolddowd.com
Mary Ann CouchBradley Arant macouch@babc.com
Matt CouchCabaniss, Johnston, Gardner, Dumas & O'Neal mmc@cabaniss.com
Alyssa DanielsAlexander Shunnarah alyssa.daniels08@gmail.com
Alex EdwardsSubstation Enterprises Inc. edwards2630@aol.com
Jennifer FaulknerUAB Physcial Therapy jro.faulkner@gmail.com
Cody JacksonDunn Constructions cjackson@dunnconstruction.com
Anne Knox AverittBradley Arant aaveritt@babc.com
William MarinosRenasant Bank whmarinos@renasant.com
Mary McIntyreUAB Occupational Therapy mgm0015@uab.edu
Jonathan MoodyPage One Legal jmoody@pageonelegal.com
Kathryn NewellInternational Paper kcnewell@gmail.com
Luke NewellDunn Construction lnewell@dunnbuildingcmpany.com
Patrick PittmanCobbs Allen ppittman@cobbsallen.com
Jeff RodgersAlabama Associated General Contractors jeffr@alagc.org
Grayson SandersGrandview Medical Center g14@uab.edu
Scarlett SimmonsCampbell Wealth Management, LLC scarlett@campbellwealthmgt.com
Sammy SlackMCLeod Software samuel.slack@mcleodsoftware.com
Mary Frances SomerallCayenne Creative mfsomerall@gmail.com
Auston SullivanBarfield, Murphy, Shank & Smith asullivan@bmss.com
Michael Wade Jr.Protective Life michael.wade@protective.com
Bo WeldenDunn Construction bwelden@dunnconstruction.com
Josh WilliamsAmerican Concrete josh@americanconcretepumpingllc.com
Dr. Neena Xavier UAB Physican's Assistant Program naxavier@uab.edu